RSS Feed

Why, Oh Why?

I am writing today to encourage you to stop and think. Think about some of the things you do in your life. What typically drives those choices you make? Economics, habit, familiarity (i.e.- it’s what my Mom did), comfort, convenience? Quite often, it is our practice to make a decision without putting a lot of thought into it. We may do something because it’s what our best friend recommends (or even a doctor), I want it now, this is easy,” Or its the cheapest thing on the shelf.  Even “if I don’t think about it, it won’t harm me.” Another good one- “It is what everybody does.”

God is a pretty cool dude. He gave us the most phenomenal computer ever imaginable. But we have to turn it on. We have the choice to boot up and start processing. Or not.

I am all for whole foods, all things in as natural state as possible, herbs, aromatherapy, organic, etc., etc.  And shaving my armpits. While I think there is tremendous benefit in all of these things (well, the armpit thing is a matter of personal preference),what I most desire for you to move towards  thinking about the impact of your decisions. Motivating you to knowing WHY you make the choices you make, which leads you to conviction. And empowerment.

I could provide lots of facts about wellness and healthy nutrition. Trust me, I will be full of suggestions. But first, I hope to encourage you to consider the fact that you have been equipped with the immense capability to think for yourself, trust God’s infinite wisdom in the design of things, and you have been entrusted with an amazingly beautiful dwelling- You. Are you honoring that dwelling the way you should be?

I’ve given myself reason to reboot and reprocess some of my own choices…’Cause I love my programmer!

-Erika

About Erika Barrett

Endlessly curious and a strange mix of too simple and way too complicated, I'm in awe of the beauty and glory this life offers, celebrate resourcefulness and finding simplicity in life. I am a certifying LifeCoach, specializing in helping others find a way forward towards crafting a life of joyful purpose. I'm also Masters Level Practictioner of Splankna Therapy, which is a mind-body-spirit therapy model. I'm a currently single mama to three beautiful souls, and I love to be outside, adventuring and exploring, laughing, playing in the water and hugging those around me. I'm a believer that life is rich when we become aware of the little moments placed before us and embrace them fully-the joy, sorrow, beauty, love and pain. Life is too short to be so serious, yet there is so much devastating brokenness all around us that feels crushing. My writing is about a journey into wholeness and restoration. For me, you and those around us. So won't you join me in diving into our experiences and hearts? Feel free to share a thought or many, and please, please, love those you're with.

Leave a Reply

