RSS Feed

What’s In Your Box?

I have been thinking a whole lot these days about the things in my box. Like a child holding their most sacred treasures, I squeeze it so close to my heart. It is a box of expectations. Of dreams, hopes, desires, plans for my life. Things I think would be so wonderful and so amazing if they would work out, or be granted to me by God. If only he would answer my prayer to fulfill the things in my box. God wants to grant us the desires of our hearts, right? Yes, he does. If those desires line up with his plan for our life.

Ephesians 3:20 says: “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.” He is at work within each of us. All things for his plan, for his glory.

So I have been thinking a lot about this box, and this scripture. I now realize that God is trying to tell me, “Just let go of the box.” He says, “I have waiting for you more than you can ask or imagine, WAY MORE, if you will just trust me, and give me your box.”

I have also just realize what it feel like to wrestle with God. Well, really, it was just wrestling with my own selfish soul. God just sat there patiently waiting, with that loving smile on his face. Waiting for me to give it up; to hand over the box. But oh, it was so hard. To give up the things most dear to me, the things I think would be so great to have in my life. Gone. Given. Willingly, at long last.

So what I have come to understand is that when I trust him enough to say, “Lord, I really, really want what is in this box. It is the greatest thing I can imagine. But I understand and trust that if this is not what you want for me, then what is waiting for me is immeasurably more than I can ask or imagine, if I just give you my box.

I just read an amazing book called “The Prisoner In The Third Cell” by Gene Edwards. It was about the expectations we have of God and they ways we think he will work in our life; how we so often become offended with him if things are not as we think they should be. We may never truly understand his ways. But will we trust HIM?

So what things are you carrying in your box? Pencils? Cigars? Maybe a new house, better job, healing, understanding, or restoration of a relationship? Could you, would you consider relinquishing your box? Handing it over to God and allowing him to replace it with more than you can ask or imagine? It will most likely be WAY different from what you can ask or imagine, but will be exactly what you need.

-Erika

About Erika Barrett

Endlessly curious and a strange mix of too simple and way too complicated, I'm in awe of the beauty and glory this life offers, celebrate resourcefulness and finding simplicity in life. I am a certifying LifeCoach, specializing in helping others find a way forward towards crafting a life of joyful purpose. I'm also Masters Level Practictioner of Splankna Therapy, which is a mind-body-spirit therapy model. I'm a currently single mama to three beautiful souls, and I love to be outside, adventuring and exploring, laughing, playing in the water and hugging those around me. I'm a believer that life is rich when we become aware of the little moments placed before us and embrace them fully-the joy, sorrow, beauty, love and pain. Life is too short to be so serious, yet there is so much devastating brokenness all around us that feels crushing. My writing is about a journey into wholeness and restoration. For me, you and those around us. So won't you join me in diving into our experiences and hearts? Feel free to share a thought or many, and please, please, love those you're with.

Leave a Reply

