RSS Feed

Joy and Thanksgiving for Mothers

Posted on

Happy Mother’s Day to each beautiful, wonderful mom! To my incredible, beautiful, wonderful Mom, I thank you for being an example of patience, perseverance, gratitude, and encouragement. Thank you for being my number one supporter throughout my journey through mothering young children.

It is often said that being a mother is the hardest job on the planet. It is a profession that is usually thankless, exhausting, frustrating, and chaotic. A baby begins life in our womb as a parasite; they take whatever they can and need from our body that gives freely. Often it seems that the one-way flow of life-giving doesn’t stop at birth. A friend shared with me that a study determined that a mom spends, on average, 55 minutes each day looking for something each day that someone ELSE has misplaced. This doesn’t include the time spent looking for the things her sleep-deprived self has lost.

But the mother-child relationship appears to become much more symbiotic when you put rose-colored glasses on. The special tinting on those rose-colored glasses is called joy and thanksgiving. If you put these glasses on, it is quite possible that your load will lighten.

Someone needed to hand me a pair of glasses last night in the store. 3 tired kids and a worn-out mom, a near-concussion on the concrete floor, drum playing on metal cooler section, and persistent requests for everything unhealthy were enough to drive me to tears. And it nearly did.

But in retrospect, I can see the beauty in that store experience. My beautiful daughter was trying so hard to maximize her money to buy me a Mother’s Day gift that I would be thrilled with. She only needed 3 cents extra. And the boys, well, I am so thankful they have legs to run, and  they were laughing (at least until Gantry’s head almost split open). They were having a grand time. I thank God I have been entrusted to guide these beautiful little lives.

Life through special lenses of joy and thanksgiving allows our life to change color, literally. Dropped eggs in the kitchen aren’t just a mess. They are learning to cook and how to clean up a mess. And ask for help when they need it. Repeated requests to play ball aren’t just time stealers from our duties in the house, they are an opportunity for discovery and practice of the gifts and talents God has placed in them.

But the biggest blessing is to us as a Mother. Proverbs 31:28 says: “Her children will arise and call her blessed.” A parasite cares nothing for its host. It just takes without considering the burden it places.  But when our children look at us with thanksgiving, laugh in our midst, and someday arise and call us blessed, we can be thankful that we chose to put on a new view in our life!

God’s blessings to you all. Mothers, thank you for being steadfast in your joy and thanksgiving. You are blessed, and your children are blessed.

-Erika

So

About Erika Barrett

Endlessly curious and a strange mix of too simple and way too complicated, I'm in awe of the beauty and glory this life offers, celebrate resourcefulness and finding simplicity in life. I am a certifying LifeCoach, specializing in helping others find a way forward towards crafting a life of joyful purpose. I'm also Masters Level Practictioner of Splankna Therapy, which is a mind-body-spirit therapy model. I'm a currently single mama to three beautiful souls, and I love to be outside, adventuring and exploring, laughing, playing in the water and hugging those around me. I'm a believer that life is rich when we become aware of the little moments placed before us and embrace them fully-the joy, sorrow, beauty, love and pain. Life is too short to be so serious, yet there is so much devastating brokenness all around us that feels crushing. My writing is about a journey into wholeness and restoration. For me, you and those around us. So won't you join me in diving into our experiences and hearts? Feel free to share a thought or many, and please, please, love those you're with.

2 responses »

  1. Erika,
    Thank you for your beautiful Mother’s Day blog. My heart aches for you at the stress and trials that you encounter daily, particularly as a solo mother. But my heart also sings that your children have you, a mother who is well grounded in spiritual principals that you remember to be grateful even when (or after) you are sure everyone in the store is probably looking wide at you for having out-of-control kids. (btw – only women who have had no children will be quick to judge on that front).

    Your children (my grandchildren!! yea!) are so very sweet, sensitive, aware, responsible, caring little people. And as I’ve often said that is definitely not an accident. Kids don’t grow up self-assured and caring if they are not guided and directed daily into those attitudes. It is fun now to think back about the times of my mothering –and now I/we laugh, but often I was frequently exhausted and near tears. Like when we left the grocery store in Seneca in a hurry after I repaired the produce balance one of your brothers dismantled in a big crash.)

    But memories of childbirth pain diminish as the happiness of having a new baby takes over. Throughout all these ups and downs you have now the joy and love and happy times are what remain.

    Thank you, Erika, for being a wonderful mother to your children and a wonderful daughter to me! I love you!
    Momma

    Reply
    • Thank you, Mom. You have been an inspiration to me. Thanks for all you have done for me, and continue to do. I love you.
      Erika

      Reply

Leave a Reply

