RSS Feed

Grace on the Entrance Ramp

Life. People. Entrance Ramps. Idiotic, selfish, mean, angry people on the entrance ramp. Trying to race through life. Or at least in front of me after I was long in front of them. Grace should enter in at this point, but doesn’t always.

So why should I have grace on the entrance ramp? Why should I bless the idiot that just cut me off, when what I really want to do is ram into the back of their car? Because it blesses me. And the other driver. Most mornings I choose to smile (after a brief moment of imagining our cars kissing),  taking a deep breath, and asking the Lord to bless them. And in return, the 3 little sponges in the backseat don’t get another name-calling lesson. Trust me, they don’t let me forget how funny it was the day I called someone a bonehead. They really don’t forget anything, except their shoes, homework, or being asked to pick up their room. But Mom’s runaway mouth sticks forever!

I know I have nearly constant opportunity choose to not be offended by things. Someones actions, or words. Rather, I can choose to bless someone with grace and love. Choose to let it pass right by. Because almost every time we are offended by someone’s actions, it either has nothing whatsoever to do with us, or it is an opportunity to grow to be more like Christ. He did all things in love, spoke the truth, and chose to bless and forgive. Shouldn’t I? What a gift to myself and the other person for me to smile, say a prayer for them, and move on. Instead of sowing anger and bitterness.

Allowing grace to reign more and more frequently allows me to walk in deeper peace. To be patient when I don’t feel like it grows a little more love in my heart. Choosing to bless rather than curse allows the Spirit to move more freely within me. To find something to be thankful for in the midst of anything blesses my Lord.

Each day provides opportunity to bless, love, extend grace to those we may not feel deserve it. Yet they do. We all do.

So I’ll see you on the entrance ramp. Hopefully, I’ll let you in front of me with a smile. If not- my kids will be happy to give you full report of the situation within our car.

Love-

Erika

 

 

 

About Erika Chowning

God-crazy, and sometimes just a bit crazy, I'm in awe of the beauty and glory this life offers. I am a Masters Level Practictioner of Splankna Therapy, which is a mind-body-spirit therapy model. I'm a currently single mama to three beautiful souls, and I love to be in the middle of God's creation, adventuring and exploring, laughing, dancing, playing and whatever else fun I can find. I'm a believer that life is rich when we become aware of the little moments placed before us and embrace them fully-the joy, sorrow, beauty, love and pain. Life is so short to be too serious, but there is so much devastating brokenness all around us that feels crushing. My writing is about a journey into wholeness and restoration. For me, you and those around us. So won't you join me in diving into our experiences and hearts? Feel free to share a thought or many, and please, please, love those you're with.

Leave a Reply

