RSS Feed

Love Divine

I set my body in to motion, my feet kicking in to the familiar red dirt at Garden of the Gods. I love this place. On the move, I could smell the cedar and pine. My lungs expanded, taking in the cool morning air, and I instantly felt myself decompressing. I run in pursuit…. not of a running buddy or a faster time. I run with Jesus. He is my running buddy and I crave the time together. This is LOVE.

Exercising outside is prayer time for me. There is something so connecting when my body, heart and brain all engage. This morning I was hungry for some answers and in great anticipation of hearing something from Him. For at least the first half of my run, I just ran. Giddy to be out on a glorious day, I whispered many gratitudes, and I’m always stunned by the gift of the immense beauty all around me. This is LOVE.

“LOVE DIVINE” is the message I heard when I started pressing in to the Lord for some answers to questions I was asking. What I really wanted was some profound revelation. This is what was whispered in to my heart…  “I am here, I am here… I am LOVE DIVINE…You are love divine…This, Erika, is profound. It’s simple, and profound and LOVE DIVINE.”

I was reminded so gracefully yet powerfully that today was simply about communion. I stopped in awe, soaking the notion in. Enjoying His presence. I actually laughed; I get so pushy sometimes. But He sweetly pulls me close in an embrace and if Jesus could be rude, he was telling me to shut up and just let Him hold me in the sweetest place. Shaking my head at the profound simplicity of just being with Him, I ran once again, delighting in the freedom to just enjoy Him and let Him enjoy me. To be stunned in and by the LOVE DIVINE, ponder and be in awe of that love that dwells in me.

 

About Erika Chowning

God-crazy, and sometimes just a bit crazy, I'm in awe of the beauty and glory this life offers. I am a Masters Level Practictioner of Splankna Therapy, which is a mind-body-spirit therapy model. I'm a currently single mama to three beautiful souls, and I love to be in the middle of God's creation, adventuring and exploring, laughing, dancing, playing and whatever else fun I can find. I'm a believer that life is rich when we become aware of the little moments placed before us and embrace them fully-the joy, sorrow, beauty, love and pain. Life is so short to be too serious, but there is so much devastating brokenness all around us that feels crushing. My writing is about a journey into wholeness and restoration. For me, you and those around us. So won't you join me in diving into our experiences and hearts? Feel free to share a thought or many, and please, please, love those you're with.

Leave a Reply

