RSS Feed

Celebrating the hell out of Easter

I sit here on Easter morning, letting the cool breeze in through the sliding door. I savor the freshness of this morning and feel more than a bit sad at the same time. Or guilty. It’s been nearly a year since I’ve been inside “Church.” A year ago I decided to lay down my scramble that started to make me question my reasons for going. Not questioning my faith, but the reasons behind why I would wake up with anxiety and a pressure to get my kids out the door and hopefully into church before worship started. I stopped and set it down because we were all so tired. It felt meaningless.

I pondered this morning about everyone celebrating Christ’s resurrection today. I wondered how many truly feel the joy and hope of what that means in their own lives, or how many just put on a good face and show up trying to celebrate. Personally, I see and celebrate much resurrection in my own life, leading me to where I am today. But part of me feels stuck in Good Friday still, in the darkness and sadness of not seeing what’s coming on Sunday. Life out of death with no evidence in sight yet.

A MILLION RESURRECTIONS

However, as I write I realize that’s what this is all about. Celebrating and hoping for what we know can and will come. Because we need to translate the full story and recognize the one resurrected life of Christ we celebrate today gives us a life resurrected once and a million times over. The moments in days of a lifetime that have gone sideways.

So today, I celebrate. I will literally celebrate the hell out of Easter Sunday. I celebrate all the ways I feel like my heart and my life were dead and have been brought new life. I celebrate the dark place of uncertainty in my kids’ hearts today because I know it will be ok. I know there is a love so much greater than this friday-not-seeing. I can celebrate because there is a knowing of resurrection that comes out of it. There is victory, hope, joy and total beauty in that knowing.

 

 

About Erika Barrett

Endlessly curious and a strange mix of too simple and way too complicated, I'm in awe of the beauty and glory this life offers, celebrate resourcefulness and finding simplicity in life. I am a certifying LifeCoach, specializing in helping others find a way forward towards crafting a life of joyful purpose. I'm also Masters Level Practictioner of Splankna Therapy, which is a mind-body-spirit therapy model. I'm a currently single mama to three beautiful souls, and I love to be outside, adventuring and exploring, laughing, playing in the water and hugging those around me. I'm a believer that life is rich when we become aware of the little moments placed before us and embrace them fully-the joy, sorrow, beauty, love and pain. Life is too short to be so serious, yet there is so much devastating brokenness all around us that feels crushing. My writing is about a journey into wholeness and restoration. For me, you and those around us. So won't you join me in diving into our experiences and hearts? Feel free to share a thought or many, and please, please, love those you're with.

One response »

  1. Lovely, refreshing & thoughtful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

